Friends Board of Directors

Friends of Kalamazoo Public Library Officers and Board Members

Friends of Kalamazoo Public Library Officers and Board Members
Photo: Jon Hill

The Friends of Kalamazoo Public Library is a Michigan nonprofit corporation governed by an elected board with one full-time employee and more than 300 dues-paying members. We are one of more than 2,000 Friends of the Library groups nationwide.

The Friends board of directors consists of not less than twelve nor more than fifteen members. Board members are elected to three year terms by membership vote at the annual meeting in May. Newly elected board members take office immediately.

There are also two non-voting members; the Kalamazoo Public Library Director and the Friends Bookstore Coordinator


Friends of Kalamazoo Public Library officers are chosen from the elected board members at the June meeting, and serve one year terms. Officers may serve additional terms with board approval.

Governing Documents

The Friends decisions and actions are guided by its Constitution, Bylaws and Mission Statement. The Board needs a quorum of its elected members to conduct business.


Friends members and the general public may attend board meetings in open session. Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month (except July, August and December) in the Central LibraryBoard Room, 315 S Rose Street. Meetings begin at 6:30 pm.

Time is set aside early at each meeting for public comments about the mission, policies or practices of the Friends. Each speaker is limited to five minutes.

2013-2014  Officers

Richard JoycePresident
Sherry Ransford-Ramsdell Vice President
Mary PlatteSecretary
Ann Schwendener Treasurer

2013-2014 Board Members

Michael GalbreathMember
Kathy HathawayMember
Chris KabellMember
Anson LiuMember
Patrick NorrisMember
Charles OfsteinMember
Thomas Pagel Member
Pam SelkirkMember
David SheldonMember
Elaine ShumakerMember
Janice SnellMember
Carol ManstromBookstore Coordinator (non-voting)