NOTE: While new carpeting is being installed at the Oshtemo Branch Library, access to some materials may be unavailable. Thank you for your patience.

Award-Winning Children's Books

Award-winning children's books, including Newbery winners, Caldecott winners, Printz Award winners, Coretta Scott King Book Award winners, and more. Suggest a purchase. 

John Newbery Medal »

Award for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature.

Randolph Caldecott Medal »

Award for the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Coretta Scott King Author Award »

Recognizing outstanding African American authors of books for children and young adults.

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award »

Recognizing outstanding African American illustrators of books for children and young adults.

Michael L. Printz Award »

Recognizing excellence in literature written for young adults.

Pura Belpré Award »

Presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal »

Awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.

Stonewall Book Awards »

The first and most enduring award for GLBT books, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table.

Schneider Family Book Award »

Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Walter Dean Myers Book Award »

New! The Walter Dean Myers Award, also known as "The Walter," is named for prolific children's and young adult author Walter Dean Myers (1937 – 2014). Myers was a National Ambassador for Young People's Literature as well as a champion of diversity in children's and YA books.