Marijuana and Michigan Law
MCLA 333.7401. Unlawful manufacture, delivery, or possession with intent to manufacture or deliver; unlawful dispensing, prescription or administration; penalties
(1) A person shall not manufacture, create, deliver, or possess with intent to manufacture, create, or deliver, a controlled substance, a prescription form, an official prescription form, or a counterfeit prescription form.
(2) A person who violates this section as to:(d) Marihuana or a mixture containing marihuana is guilty of a felony punishable as follows:*
If the amount is 45 kilograms or more, or 200 plants or more, by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not more than $10,000,000.00, or both. If the amount is 5 kilograms or more but less than 45 kilograms, or 20 plants or more but fewer than 200 plants, by imprisonment for not more than 7 years or a fine of not more than $500,000.00, or both.
If the amount is less than 5 kilograms or fewer than 20 plants by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $20,000.00, or both.
* Other variables may apply
MCLA 333.7404. Use of controlled substance or controlled substance analogue; penalties
(1) A person shall not use a controlled substance or controlled substance analogue unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner while acting in the course of the practitioner’s professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by this article.
(2) A person who violates this section as to: (d) Marihuana, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 90 days or a fine of not more than $100.00, or both.
Source: MCLA (Michigan Compiled Laws), January 2005
The information presented here is not intended to be a substitute for legal advice or representation. You should talk with an attorney if you have any questions about how this information applies to your own problem or facts.