Winners of the 13th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival

Feb 22, 2016 03:55:21 PM


Kalamazoo, MI –

More than 350 people flocked to Chenery Auditorium on Saturday, February 20 to watch the short films created by the 13th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival’s finalists. 

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

  • Best Technical Merit/Best Film: Dorian Murphy - Once Upon a Time
  • Judge's Choice: Nathan Ginter - Looking Back at the Early 2000's Barbaric Learning Practices 
  • People's Choice: Nathan Ginter - God Bless Craig
  • Best Animation: Zak Sliuzas - Upgrade
  • Best Experimental Film: Hannah Lane-Davies - A Letter to my Wonderfully Flawed Self
  • Best Music Video: Logan Workman  - Cryptorchid
  • Best Short Film: Elisha Barnett - Winter Weather
  • Best Cinematic Merit: Ryan McDonald - Still Memories

Our winners received the following prizes:

  • Grand Prize: GoPro Hero 4, Polar Pro, Promic GoPro Microphone Kit and Gocase H4 POV Pro Case
  • Judge’s Choice: $250 B&H Photo Gift Card
  • People’s Choice & Other Awards: $50 Best Buy Gift Card  

The 13th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival was hosted by Master of Ceremonies Kevin Park and judged by Jaakan Page-Wood, Ronald L. Widerberg and Daniel Kim. 

The Public Media Network will broadcast all entries chosen for the festival, the awards presentations and interviews with the winner. DVDs of the festival coverage and the filmmaker interviews were given to the winners and are available for purchase at cost to interested filmmakers and fans. 

Broadcast Schedule

All broadcasts will air on Charter 187/U-Verse 99 starting 2/25 - 3/20:

  • Sundays, 10 pm
  • Tuesdays, 9 pm
  • Wednesdays, 2 am
  • Thursdays, 4 pm
  • Saturdays, 12 pm

This years winning films and winning films from previous Teen Filmmaker Festivals can be found at

The 2016 Teen Filmmaker Festival was presented by: Kalamazoo Public Library, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, Campaign Pictures, PMN, Chenery Auditorium and Alamo Drafthouse Cinema.


Post a Comment