book jacket

Selection Committee

Public Libraries

Kalamazoo Public Library (4 votes total)

  • Michael Holverstott-Cockrell, Loan/Outreach
  • Mary Doud, Deputy Director
  • Ann Rohrbaugh, Director
  • Cory Grimminck, Teen Services
  • Wendy Woltjer, Materials Selection
  • Joan Hawxhurst, Programming

Portage District Library

  • Lawrence Kapture, Adult and Reference Services

College & University Libraries

Kalamazoo College

  • Stacy Nowicki, Library Director

Western Michigan University

  • Scott Garrison, Assoc. Dean, Waldo Library

High Schools

Hackett Catholic Central H.S.

  • Teresa Luzenske, Chair, English Dept.
  • Judy VanderWeg, Librarian

Kalamazoo Central H.S.

  • Sherry Ransford, English Dept.
  • Jennifer Young, English Dept.

Kalamazoo Area Mathematics and Science Center

  • Brenda Earhart, Director

Community Groups

Black Arts and Culture Center

  • James Watkins

Gay/Lesbian Resource Center

  • Tom Seiler, Librarian

Kalamazoo Community Foundation

  • Shannon Bronsink, Mktg. Communications Mgr.

Southwest Michigan Black Heritage Society

  • Donna Odom, President

Portage UCC

  • Lisa Kothe, Pastor

Book Groups

Hadassah Book Group

  • Jaimy Gordon

Saturday Eves Book Group

  • Phyllis Seabolt


Kazoo Books

  • John Wenger


Kalamazoo Gazette

  • Anne Holcomb, Librarian

Community members

  • Lindy Rose
  • Sue Doan